top of page
  • eleanorstorck

the adventure continues!

My goodness, how the weeks have flown by! You always hear people say that, but it never seems like eight months will really fly by that quickly...at least I didn't think so when I first arrived in Madrid in November; just a little nervous Nellie, so anxious I barely went out to eat for like the first three days. Well, things have definitely looked up since then, and I've had many wonderful experiences. I thought I had all the time in the world, and how wrong I was! I'm so thankful to have this time here on my own and meet my friends and explore Madrid and practice my Spanish. I'm shocked that my last 6 weeks are here.

The past few weeks have been filled with ups and downs, coffee dates, sips of wine, walks/picnics in the parks, laughter, sunny days, an unexpected trip home to Michigan, hikes, and my first trips outside of the community of Madrid! Woooohooo! I'm trying to enjoy the little things that I'll miss when this particular season of my life is over and be present. BUT, now is not the time to be to dramatic, because I just accepted my second placement as an language assistant for the 2021-22 academic year! I am ready to come home for a bit, to see my friends and family, and enjoy the beauty of Michigan during the summer and all the activities I've been missing. Nevertheless, I really believe that by being in Spain and teaching have been tremendously beneficial for me, and I'm not quite ready to just up and leave it all behind yet! Anyway, I have lots of pictures to share with y'all, so let's get to it!


These are from a hike from many weeks ago! We walked through three different little towns I had never heard of before, and even had a beer break mid-route!

Next, are pictures from a brunch I had with some girlfriends, in what is essentially a rooftop garden. The food was delicious, fresh, and healthy, as well as beautifully presented! I will no doubt return soon for a special breakfast.

The following are just some random photos from here and there, but they're special to me because they represent a few of my favorite things about living in Madrid, in addition to the people that have made my first year so memorable: the many florist shops, street art, cobblestone streets, playing football in the park at sunset, and meeting up for drinks and laughs!

Below are a few snap shots of a rainy, waterfall hike in Hoyo de Manzanares.

And then a few more pictures from random moments...riding bikes with Alice in Casa de Campo (a very large park in Madrid), the view from Olga's birthday lunch, and strawberry short-cakes made with love by Abby for our picnic in Retiro park!

More exciting news is that the state of alarm in Spain recently ended on May 9th, meaning that many of the Covid restrictions have eased. Most importantly, travel between Spanish communities has opened! Naturally, I had to head to the beach. Two weeks ago, I boarded the high speed train from Madrid to Alicante, which is in the Valencian community on the east coast of Spain. It was very, very hot and very, very sunny. I spent the weekend laying on the beach, walking by the sea, eating ice cream, and even making new friends.

On Saturday of my little trip, I took a bus about an hour from Alicante, up the coast to a small town called Altea. It was so refreshing to go from the busy streets of Madrid, to this quiet Mediterranean gem. I started out with breakfast with a view of the water, and then proceeded to explore the historic district, filled with shops, restaurants, and incredible views of the rooftops and water below.

And with one day left of my quick little weekend trip, I was invited to join some people I met on the beach for hike up the castle for views of the sun rise! They were so kind to invite me, and share their early morning, castle-top picnic breakfast: fruits and bread with cheese. We then spent the next several hours chatting and eventually moved to the beach, until it was time to say good-bye!

Finally, last weekend, Abby and I took a day trip from Madrid to the medieval town of Segovia, not to be confused with Genovia which is a fictional town from the Princess Diaries that does not exist... But, Segovia does have a castle, a cathedral, and an impressive Roman aqueduct. We spent all day walking around, taking in the sites, tasting pastries, and taking pictures! As it was our first little trip together, I would say it was a success!

Vale, ya está. (Well, that's it!)

Thanks for reading and viewing my pictures! I'll be in touch soon!

55 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page