top of page
  • eleanorstorck

Madre comes to visit!

Happy new year!


I have been very absent on here recently, but I think that's ok! Some things work well for awhile and then fade...it simply hasn't been on my mind to write or post here. However, I was lucky enough to have my mom here to visit for 2 weeks! & I'd like to share some photos from our time together. We spent one week in Madrid: I did my best to show her all the best things to see, do and eat! Then, the second week we spent in the south of Spain in Sevilla, Granada, and Cordoba, cities I hadn't seen before and therefore we both had the opportunity to explore with new eyes!


from Madrid:

(I took surprisingly few pictures here in the city...)


We also took some day trips, using Madrid as our base...

Segovia: known for its Roman aqueduct, cathedral, and castle.


& also to Cuenca, which is know for its "hanging houses" on the cliff side.


Week 2, Andalucía: The south was incredible! I had been to Cadíz before, but never to any other southern cities. It was really fun to explore these new places together and see first hand the gems of these cities (the alcazar in Sevilla, la Alhamabra in Granada, and the mezquita-cathedral in Cordoba).


Sevilla: Sunny and beautiful; really friendly people (especially at our B&B); tiles, tiles, tiles; flamenco, and really breathtaking sites. I wish we had had more time here!



Granada: Home of the magnificent "la Alhambra". This is the main site for visitors in Granada...we spent 5 hours visiting the palace and all the gardens.


And our last stop was Cordoba! I was actually pleasantly surprised by the hidden gems of Cordoba. It seems like a very sleepy town, and after Sevilla and Granada it certainly is, but there was more to see and experience than I originally thought. Highlights included our visit to the mezquita-cathedral, our flamenco show with dinner, middle eastern food, and giant gin&tonics!


We had one amazing trip! And I'm so thankful that we stayed healthy. My mom is a great travel companion and I can't wait for her, & hopefully others too, to come back for more adventures together!

16 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page