top of page
  • eleanorstorck

New Beginnings, welcome to Santander

Hello! Nice to have you here! Are you ready for another year of stories and pictures and rambles and all things Spain?! I’m certainly looking forward to sharing my experiences with you.


It’s been about three weeks since I’ve journeyed back across the pond. And it’s been a wild time. So, let me first update you. I am no longer in Madrid (*sad face), and I have many mixed feelings about that. On one hand, I’m super, super bummed; I had learned the lay of the land and was still discovering the city’s little secrets every day. It’s simply an enchanting place with many things to see and do. Plus, I had developed some lovely friendships, which are hard to say goodbye to, at least temporarily. However, I am happy to be living by the sea. In fact, at this very moment, I have a view of the mountains, ocean, and city, and it is the epitome of northern Spain! In addition, I have already made a great group of new friends in such a short time. Everyone has been incredibly kind, welcoming, and helpful, including my coordinators at my new school.


(Below are pictures from around Santander...the harbor, the palace, hanging at the beach, the view from my bedroom, lunch, and of course, churrooooooooooos! Seriously, look at the big pot of dough, I mean come on.)


Speaking of my new school, Monday October 4th was my first day. It didn’t start out great…I missed the first bus I wanted to take. But, throughout the day, things got better “poco a poco” (little by little). My coordinators were there to show me exactly where I needed to be, and all my classes were attentive to my cheesy intro presentation, though a bit shy. Teaching in a high school, I can already tell, is much different than teaching in a primary school. I do like that the students can actually understand a bit of what I´m saying and can respond to me in English, whereas working with the younger students was basically 70% keeping everyone on the same page, 20% playing and silly things, and 10% teaching. We’ll see how it goes as the year progresses, but things have been better than I originally expected. I am thankful for another beautiful town to work in, Laredo, and for a shorter commute than last year.


(Pictures from Laredo and my school)


The apartment search was particularly tricky during my first week. Many “pisos” were too old, too expensive, or both too old and too expensive, not to mention dusty and dirty. Luckily, I was able to find something relatively nice close to the center and to the bus station. It’s really very small for three people, my two roommates and myself, yet we are making it work. My roommates are a guy from Germany and a girl from Tunisia, both Erasmus students in Santander. So far, they have been kind, clean, and social, and yet I am finding some of their quirks and habits a bit different than what I am used to. Not sure if its a situation of cultural differences or maybe that I moved in pretty quickly without really knowing them. Anywayyyyyyy, I can only control myself and how I communicate with them. Thank goodness for the view of the harbor and the mountains I have from my bedroom.


Last weekend, I went on a quick trip to Madrid to visit friends and also get the rest of my luggage that I left from last year. And man, the weekend sure did fly by. The weather was absolutely perfect; sunny and cool all four days. I spent the time just catching up with Abby and Alice, eating at some of my favorite places, and simply enjoying being in the big city.


(Friends!)


Tuesday the 12th was a holiday, and I spent the free day hiking in Santoña, which as it happens, is just across the bay from Laredo. I went with some of the other language assistants to "Faro del caballo," a light house with stunning views of the ocean. The hike itself was incredible, but the lighthouse was spectacularly disappointing. Not to mention we walked down 763 stone steps, and then back up...man. My legs were tired.


(views on views on views... and such beautiful colored water)


I feel like I have been just going and going and going...whether that is moving into a new place, meeting up with new friends, starting school, attending appointments, or just exploring, I haven't really had a moment to just sit and write and relax until now. And it's been hard to chat with people and update my family, but now that I've started school, hopefully I'll be able to breath a bit. On the other hand, I don't want to slow down too much, because there is just so much to see and do!


27 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page