top of page
  • eleanorstorck

the 2nd week of December

Hello all. I am just gonna dive right in! and preface this by saying that I think this week was much better than last, and therefore, this blog will be a bit happier than the last. However, I am feeling a little strange. I finally had a really, really great week, but I know that the restrictions in the US are more serious and that many people I love there are feeling sad and scared. It is such a blessing to be here, and that is not lost on me. Additionally, this blog is not to boast or gloat: only to share with those of you who are equally excited to hear about my time, and also to help myself reflect and remember from week to week. So now that those feeling are out in the open and knowing that those of you reading this are the most loving and supportive people in my life, let me share the joy that I've felt over the past few days.


On Wednesday I had a "friend-date" with Lauren! We met up for drinks and tapas, and had a nice time catching up. Even in the colder temps, we enjoyed the fresh air and the patio while also watching the commotion of the plaza. The Christmas lights are in full swing, and even the ice skating rink is set up! Afterwards, we walked to the Real Jardín Botánico to see the Christmas lights that have been set up special for the holiday season! I have to say, it was quite calming: the lights were not too crazy, and walking through the garden, smelling the plants, and listening to the audio bird calls was just what I needed to relax!

On Friday, I had another "friend-date" with Alice, whom I meet at yoga! She is from England, and so lovely! We meet up for drinks, and then went to an interactive museum. I think that is the best way to categorize it, but basically there are several different rooms in this museum, each with it's own theme. I've never been anywhere like it! and it was a neat place to take photos! I'm learning that I do better throughout the week if I have plans to look forward to...even if it is as simple as going to a new museum with a friend!

And, finally on Sunday, I went on another hike! It is definitely becoming part of my normal weekend routine and it is so good for my soul! I am seeing a variety of different landscapes all within in the community of Madrid, meeting some cool people, and getting some good exercise all at the same time! The weather finally cooperated, and the sun was shining all the way! We started in Patones de Arriba, a small village built in 1527 (?). Today it is about half ruins and half functioning buildings. Not many foreign tourists make it to this remote village, but it is a popular spot amongst the Madrilenos. Another fun fact is that it is the only village in Spain that Napoleon could not find! How cool is that?! Plus, there was wild lavender, thyme, and rosemary all along our hike! I think it is my new favorite spot, and I will be returning to spend more time in this quaint place and admiring the slate roads.

A made some cool friends on this hike, and afterwards, we met up for beer and mulled wine in Madrid! We had many laughs, and enjoyed the outdoor terraza. There was even talk of making plans during our Christmas break! I suppose I won't be celebrating alone after all!


Christmas is fast approaching, and this week is the last full week of school before break! Horray! I am looking forward to some baking, decorating, and Christmas movies in the coming weeks, as well as opportunities to do some more exploring of Madrid during my free time!


Sending hugs and love and prayers to you all. Thanks for reading!

24 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page