top of page
  • eleanorstorck

staying present & moments of joy

Happy Saturday my friends! Hope you are able to use this day to rest and enjoy the sun and treat yourself with some delicious food after the week, however that may look for you. For me, the past seven days have been filled with ups and downs and joys and a little bit of sadness. But, I take it all in little pieces and am practicing staying present in the day that I am currently living. So with that, let's pick up where I left off...


Last Saturday, my roommates and I had a delicious Indian dinner! It was very casual but filled with conversation and good eats! In the pictures below are spicy chicken curry, veggie curry, rice, these other "tortilla" like crackers, and some other dishes I don't quite remember the name...but they were super delicious and authentic!

On Sunday and Monday, I visited el Museo Nacional del Prado and el Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía. They are two of the most famous museums in Madrid and home to some of the most well-known Spanish works by artists like Diego Velázquez, Francisco Goya, Pieter Brueghel de Joven, and Pablo Picasso. I have wanted to visit both museums for many years...in college, I took an art history class and a Spanish culture class. I had studied many of these works of art and the artists who created them, so it was such a cool feeling to finally see them in real life! The originals are so large and impressive. Additionally, it was simply peaceful to let my mind be in awe, to stop thinking and enjoy what I was seeing in front of me.

Tuesday was a really good day too! The weather was so lovely (I'm learning that I am enjoying the Spanish fall weather...a little bit cool, but usually sunny!), and I only taught in the morning, leaving plenty of time in the afternoon for myself. But, the best part was meeting a new friend! Lauren is from Canada and is also in Spain as a language assistant. We spent our time enjoying the sunshine, vino tinto de verano, and huevos rotos (basically french fries with scrambled eggs and sausage, similar to the Chilean chorillanas, and so delicious). And, and, and, we just totally clicked! You know that feeling when you meet another human that you can just be yourself with and conversation flows easily and you both have similar interests and views on life?! Well, that is how it is with Lauren. She is a gem, and I am optimistic that we will share a beautiful friendship! After some feelings of loneliness that naturally come with moving far away, it was such a relief to truly find a friend and exchange stories of our experiences in Spain thus far.

On Friday I took advantage of my half a day teaching schedule and did some hiking in Buitrago! I really enjoyed the time outside, in the quiet, and without a mask. The fresh air did me loads of good, and the new angles of Buitrago were incredible! By the recommendation of one of my fellow teachers, I continued my walk to el Palacio del Bosque, the ruins of an old palace in the woods. A picture is worth a thousand words but also, it doesn't even do justice to real life.

I am really happy that I decided to live in Madrid, and I've discovered that one of my favorite things to do in the city is to simply walk around and see new areas; I love finding unique boutiques, bookshops, florist shops, and cafés. Today, I ventured into Café de la luz and journaled while I enjoyed my coffee...I may not be able to travel very much, so I´m learning to find joy in the moments, and in the coffee.


I know I am not the only one worried/angry/scared/frustrated that the pandemic happened. I haven't had someone I love die from Coronavirus. I haven't personally had it. And I have still been able to safely travel and work in Spain. All of these things are such blessings. And yet, it can still be hard. Before I arrived, I knew that this year was different...that maybe I wouldn't get to travel as much or gather with others as much. And yet, it can still be hard. I chose to carry on, even with the changes. Everyday I have to remind myself of these truths, and that it is ok to be here and not be traveling/living like I would usually like to. I've felt like I'm not taking advantage of living in Europe or even just in Spain. I've felt like I'm not taking advantage of living in an international city and like I'm not using this opportunity to meet other people. And yet, this year is not like any other. I have to remind myself that there are some circumstances out of my control, but that there are other things that I can take advantage of. It is all perspective, and while today I may only be able to enjoy a stroll in the city, a drink with a friend, or a trip to a museum, maybe in a few months, I'll be able to enjoy the sights of Granada, a dinner with ten friends, or the smell of the ocean. This is as much a reminder for myself as it is for you. Focus on the good things of today, and maybe once we're able to focus on that, we'll have many months of good memories and experiences.


34 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page