top of page
  • eleanorstorck

living for now & a typical day

Hi everyone! So nice to be with you for the next few minutes! I've really been missing home lately and all my favorite people who live far away. I think it's been a combination of busy days, winter-blues, new COVID restrictions, cloudy weather, and Spanish people who literally are the slowest and most distracted people while walking that I have ever seen. Ughhhhhh, it's like, let's get a move on people! (Perhaps that is a sign that I need to relax a little and go with the flow of Spanish life.) On the other hand, it seems like time is moving so quickly...I'd completely forgotten to write last weekend. But don't worry, I'll fill you in on all the most important and wonderful moments, experiences, and foods from the past two weeks! Y ahora, empecemos!


When I returned to school after the Christmas break, I had to switch around my schedule just a bit in order to better help out around school. So, instead of having my Mondays free, I now have Fridays free! And I've been quite enjoying that! I know that I have the same amount of time free as I did before, but something about starting the weekend on Thursday afternoon versus Friday afternoon is super relaxing. Fridays are sort of my day, and I can do whatever I please. Two weeks ago, I got all dolled up and visited the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, one of the three most famous art museums in Madrid, then had a nice lunch out at one of the restaurants that I've been wanting to try for a few months now. At the Thyssen, there is currently a German-expressionism exhibit, and while I really don't know too much about painting from this time period, I was completely blown away by the colors and talent displayed. The cool thing about art is that it comes in all sorts of forms! While the works at the Prado and the Renia Sophia are so impressive for many reasons, I can easily say that the works displayed at the Thyssen have been my favorite so far. After spending some time by myself and clearing my mind during the day, I met up with friends later that evening for a few drinks in the heart of Madrid!

(Below you can see some of my favorite pieces from the museum, the restaurant that was still pretty empty because I was there earlier than most Spaniards eat lunch, and the friends!)


The next day was spent hiking, and may have been one of the more difficult hikes I've done lately. Towards the north of Madrid, we went hiking near El Berrueco. Here we saw stunning views of the mountains, tiny towns, an old Arabic watchtower (la Atalaya), and the Atazar Reservior. I started out really strong and excited! However, it started to lightly rain not that long into the route, and continued for the majority of the day. Now, it was still a beautiful route, and I'm happy that I did it, but after four hours walking in the rain and slipping on the mud, I definitely was reaching my grumpy stage at the end. Thankfully there was a warm fireplace at the bar where we finished, and I could warm up before taking the bus home.

Then I had the regular ol' work week...which I'll get to in a moment...


But, yesterday, my Friday (woooooooooo!), I finally made it to El Escorial, a famous town near the mountians! I have been wanting to go to this town for a while, but hadn't done so until yesterday. It is home to an incredible 16th century monastery and palace created by King Philip II, and the most beautiful library and basilica as well. I hopped on the cercanias from Madrid, a trip that took about and hour, then walked around the town. The sun was shining so bright and warm, and there were hardly any people. I basically toured the building alone, something that I can assume is not usually the case during normal times and tourist season. I was so relaxed, content, and proud of myself for going by myself. Additionally, the streets are mostly cobble stone here, and I couldn't help but laugh as the cars and motorcycles passed me by, bumping along...it's the little things that get me. :) So after my self-guided tour, and walk about, I decided it was time for lunch. I stopped at the first place I saw, and it was a bit fancier than I was expecting...and had no idea what dishes the waiter was telling me about. I was feeling a bit uncomfortable at first, thinking "I probably shouldn't be here...this isn't my style or price range." But then, I figured why not?! Why shouldn't I enjoy a fancy lunch and delicious food?! So I asked questions when I didn't understand, and treated myself to the best food I've had in awhile, complete with wine and cheesecake!


So those have been my big adventures lately, but I'm also still teaching...and I thought that maybe you'd like to know what a typical week day looks like for me! The days are less glamorous, and more tiring, but have their own special joys and purpose...

5:30am: First alarm, which of course I always snooze.

*6am: Third alarm, when I decide that I can't allow myself to sleep any longer.

6:20am: Dressed and ready to go! Out the door and a short walk to the metro station.

6:45am: Say good morning to Antonio (the bus driver everyday and such a nice guy!), and off to Buitrago!

8:30am: Ope! Wake up from my morning nap, and off the bus. Time for a café con leche and maybe una toastada con acetie y tomate. I head to Maria's cafe. (see below!)

9am: First class of the day, English with 4th grade.

9:45am: English with 3rd grade.

10:30am: Science with 3rd grade.

11:15am: English with 5th grade.

Noon: A break for "breakfast" as they call it...salami and cheese on bread, a piece of fruit, coffee, and maybe a sweet treat with all the teachers!

12:30pm: Science Lab with 5th grade!

2pm: On the bus back to Madrid

4pm: Home for lunch and relax!

**6:30-8pm: Spanish class

8:30pm: Home for a small dinner

9:30pm: Finally, in bed and ready for the next day!

*Most auxliares don't have to wake up so early...it's just that I have to commute such a long way, which I have already mentioned in previous posts.

**I recently started taking Spanish classes two times a week! I thought that they would help me polish my skills and allow me to practice in a more relaxed setting. I've been really enjoying them and have been able to review certain aspects of the language where I struggle. Plus, its a small class, which allows more conversation and getting to know people!

In closing, some other good news: I was finally able to have an appointment for the last really important piece of registration! I was originally supposed to have this appointment within the first month of arriving in Spain, as it is for my identification card and my visa has recently expired, but it has been impossible to schedule an appointment and the government is really behind. Thankfully, everything is being processed now and is one less thing to worry about!

I'm really looking forward to spring and the warm weather that is to come... and hopefully the opportunity to have some visitors from the U.S in the coming months! Fingers crossed! I have no idea how the restrictions will play out, but, as always, I will keep you updated on all things Madrileño.


45 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page